Faery-Elven Star (Seven Pointed Star)
Faery-Elven Star (Seven Pointed Star)
Faery-Elven Star (Seven Pointed Star)
Faery-Elven Star (Seven Pointed Star)
The House of Life-Botanicals

Faery-Elven Star (Seven Pointed Star)

Regular price $25.00 $0.00 Unit price per
Shipping calculated at checkout.

This Faery Star by Jörd of the North Spirit Creations, is the less well-known but even more powerful iteration of the magickal pentagram. It plays an important role in both Christian as well as Pagan iconography. 

A Faery or Elven star is basically any seven-pointed star that is drawn in seven straight strokes. While the heptagram itself has several meanings and representations in various religions and cultures, the actual faery star is best represented as the sacred symbol of pagans  and those who practice witchcraft.

🧚 Lovingly handcrafted by Jörd of the North Spirit Creations.  

Another Herbal Ally Creation-Made with Intention using Russian Sage Branches.  Light Purple Fabric ribbon including a Hag Stone to enhance and protect you on your journey to the Lands of the Fae.  

Approx 10 inches in diameter  

Herbal Ally-Sage is used in magical workings for immortality, longevity, wisdom, protection and the granting of wishes.

Sage is also believed to help alleviate the sorrow of the death of a loved one.

In Christianity – Protection and Perfection

In Orthodox Christian tradition, seven-pointed stars are used to symbolize the time it took for the Creator to put together everything on the Earth. Thus, elven stars are used and drawn to ward off and protect against evil.

In Christianity, seven is the number of perfection and completeness. It is a prevalent count in nature – there are seven oceans on Earth, seven continents, and seven colors in the rainbow. In Catholic tradition, there are seven deadly sins, seven virtues, seven days of creation, and seven gifts from the Holy Spirit.

The faery or elven star is therefore associated with God’s favorite number, which was also prominent in the Book of Revelations, where there were seven churches, seven angels, seven stars, seven trumpets, and seven seals.

Significance in Islam, Hinduism, Buddhism, and Judaism.

Just like in Christian tradition, the number seven bears relevance in almost every major religion. Islamic doctrine speaks of seven heavens, and there are seven verses in the Quran. Thus, Muslims walk around the Kaaba in Mecca seven times. 

Hinduism also speaks of seven heavens (higher worlds) and seven underworlds. In Buddhist traditions, the newborn Buddha took seven steps upon rising.

Finally, in Kabbalistic Judaism, the Faery/elven star is used as the sphere of Netzach (Venus), thus taking on the symbolic representation of the power of love. All of these significant references and events are immortalized and symbolized by the seven-pointed star.


It’s in contemporary magick that faery/elven stars are actively used as standalone symbols instead of merely being associated with the innate perfection of the number seven.

The five-pointed star, also called the pentagram, depicts the different directional spaces: North, South, East, West, and Above. The Faery Star expands the mind’s awareness by adding two more dimensions: Below, and Within.

It is said that while the first five directions are visible and accessible to the common person, only those with fae (fairy)or witch blood can witness the additional two spaces. Notably, the land of Faerie, according to legend, can be found either Within (in the imagination), or Below (in the Underworld).

In this sense, elven stars represent heightened awareness and enlightenment even among those who do magick. There are supposedly seven steps on the path to one’s higher and more magickal self. Thus, drawing the Faery star or the elven star when one meditates or casts a spell, or wearing the symbol around one’s body as an accessory is thought to help people unlock new dimensions and new knowledge they previously had no awareness of.


The actual elven star is extensively used in the book The Faery Craft written by Emily Carding. The book talks about how a simple mortal can connect to the mystical world through understanding nature and meditation.

Aside from this, Carding also crafted her own symbolic meaning behind the elven star which she calls the Faery Craft Septagram. Each of the seven points reveal a direction and a quality that one must possess to do faery work which include the following:

  • Knowledge: Eastern quality from the element of air that provides the foundation for faery work. Having enough information safeguards a practitioner from his developing intuition that is bound to make errors in judgment.
  • Connection: This is the quality that comes from the Stars above us. It shows the link between all humans, nature, and the entire Universe in its inner light. Accepting this connection opens doors to a deeper awareness which is beyond the capacity of our 5 senses.
  • Trust: This is the Northern quality that belongs to the element of earth. Trust is necessary upon learning connection because it builds cooperation between and among those in the inner realms and those who want to tap faery power. Trust is not simply having the confidence towards another but also discerning who is worthy of receiving such trust
  • Honor: Trust then becomes the foundation for honor which is a quality of the Sun that can be located from within. Carding says that each person carries within us an inner sun at our very core which contains our spiritual light. This pure light allows us to collaborate with integrity with other people.
  • Magick: Only when the first four qualities are mastered, that is when the realm of Magick will open its doors to the user. Magick relates to the moon and is located below. Magick will grant us the ability to connect with those in the Otherworld to be able to implement good changes within and amongst ourselves.
  • Joy: This is the quality that comes from the West which is connected to the element of water. True joy is felt when a person can open oneself to the universe to celebrate life, existence, and adversity.
  • Inspiration: The culmination of the six qualities listed above will grant inspiration not just for self-action but to inspire others to act. This fervor and desire to lead is connected with the element of fire and the south. 


Share this Product